Log in

The Clarence M. Kelley Award 

The Clarence M. Kelley Award has been presented annually since 1980 to the Outstanding Law Enforcement Administrator in the Metropolitan area.  Each year at the Kansas City Metropolitan Crime Commission’s Annual Luncheon the American Society for Industrial Security presents this award.

Clarence Kelly was highly respected for his leadership and integrity with the Kansas City, Missouri Police as well as when he was the Director of the Federal Bureau of Investigation.


1980        Myron Scafe, Overland Park, KS & Jack Corum, Clay County Sheriff’s Department

1981        Norman A. Caron, Kansas City, MO Police Department

1982        Michael A. Defoe, Head of Strike Force USA, Kansas City, MO

1983        William S. Brandom, Clay County Prosecutor

1984        W.R. Petrus, Captain, Missouri State Highway Patrol

1985        William Ouseley, Supervisor, FBI

1986        Clarence Hoffman, Cop, N. Kansas City, MO

1987        Captain Dave Barton, Kansas City, MO Police Department

1988        John Foster Cop, Lenexa, KS Police Department

1989        Larry A. Joiner, Cop, Kansas City, MO Police Department

1990        Fred Allenbrand, Sheriff, Johnson Count, KS

1991        Kris Turnbow, Cop, Raytown Police Department

1992        Albert Riederer, Jackson County Prosecutor

1993        Howard Brown, Cop, Blue Springs, MO Police Department

1994        Bob Beckers, Cop, Grandview, MO Police Department & James R. Graham, Executive Director, Kansas City Crime Commission

1995        Steve Cox, Cop, Leawood Police Department

1996        Ellen Hanson, Cop, Lenexa Police Department

1997        Bob Bayless, Director Riverside Public Safety

1998        Paul Morrison, Johnson County Prosecuting Attorney

1999        Steve Hill, U.S. Attorney, Western Judicial District of Missouri

2000        John Douglass, Chief, Overland Park Police Department

2001        Richard Easley, Chief, Kansas City, MO Police Department

2002        Kenneth Francis, Chief, Gardner Public Safety Department

2003        Ronald Miller, Chief, Kansas City, KS Police Department        

2004        Todd Graves, United States Attorney, Western District of Missouri

2005        Kevin Stafford, Special Agent in Charge, FBI

2006        Frederick Mills, Chief, Independence, MO Police Department

2007        William Seck, Colonel Patrol Superintendent, Kansas Highway Patrol

2008        Thomas Phillips, Sheriff, Jackson County Sheriff’s Department

2009        Sheriff Frank Denning, Johnson County Sheriff’s Department

2010        Chief Greg Mills, Riverside Department of Public Safety

2011        Chief Jim Lynch, Raytown, MO Police Department

2012        Sheriff Richard Anderson, Platte County Sheriff’s Department

2013        Chief Gary McMullin, Weatherby Lake, MO

2014        Chief John Meier Leawood Kansas Police Department

2015      Chief Tom Dailey Independence, MO Police Department

2016      Sheriff Mark Owen, Platte County Sheriff Department

2017        Sheriff Donald Ash, Wyandotte County Sheriff Department

2018     Chief Steven Menke,  Olathe Kansas Police Department

2019 Chief Kevin Chrisman, Parkville Police Department

Contact Us:

PO Box 410043,

Kansas City, MO, 64141

Email: info@kcasis.org

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software